Happy family

Find a legal form in minutes

Browse US Legal Forms’ largest database of 85k state and industry-specific legal forms.

Judicial Divisions

The International Criminal Court (ICC) is the first permanent treaty based international criminal court.  It was established to bring to justice the perpetrators of the most serious crimes against the international community.

The ICC is an independent international organization and is not part of the United Nations.  Its seat is at The Hague in the Netherlands. The court is composed of four department: the Presidency, the Judicial Divisions, the Office of the Prosecutor and the Registry

The Judicial Divisions consist of eighteen judges organized into the Pre-Trial Division, the Trial Division and the Appeals Division.  The judges of each division sit in chambers which are responsible for conducting the proceedings of the court at different stages.  The assignment of judges to divisions is made based on the nature of the functions each division performs and the qualifications and experience of the judge.

Inside Judicial Divisions